Need Bottom Paint Advice Before I buy a C22 [photos inside]

Aug 7, 2018
Catalina 22 6939 Lake Waccamaw, NC
I am a Tanzer 16 sailor looking to purchase a Catalina 22 or similar cruiser to keep on a mooring at Lake Waccamaw in southeastern North Carolina.

A fellow sailor at my club purchased an extra 22 he really doesn't need from a guy who was going through some tough medical issues. He wants to sell me this one for $3300 with an engine.

Everything on the boat looks great from the waterline up. My only concern is the bottom paint job. I am not an expert but it looks to me like the bottom paint was sanded or scraped in places all the way down to the fiberglass. I would want to keep this on a mooring, but I am thinking that I should get the bottom in good condition first. Also, the keel is a rusty mess.

What do you guys think of the condition? Is it worth the price? It's convenient to buy because it's at my club, but should I just look elsewhere?

I am guessing I would have to vacuum sand this all the way down to the lowest exposed layer and then put on an Epoxy Barrier Coat then put on the antifouling paint?

Thanks for the advice!

0806180754.jpg 0806180754a.jpg 0806180754b.jpg 0806180755.jpg 0806180755a.jpg 0806180756.jpg 0806180756a.jpg 0806180756b.jpg 0806180756c.jpg 0806180800.jpg

Sep 20, 2014
Rob Legg RL24 Chain O'Lakes
The keel doesn't bother me much, that can be sandblasted, even if some of it is flaking off. Rusted metal expands 12 times its current size, so it is unlikely you are loosing a lot of metal. Do NOT grind it. If you try to grind it smooth, then you will take off too much metal. Sandblast it, and the fair it.
The bottom does make me wonder if the gelcoat flaked off. If it was scraped off, I don't know that you would see the edges so pronounced. It looks more like the gelcoat flaked off like paint.

Aug 7, 2018
Good to know about the keel.

The paint is definitely peeling of with ease in certain sections.

May 23, 2016
Catalina 22 #12502 BSC