Navigation

Nov 14, 2018
Hunter 26 / 33.5 Eden isle, Greer’s ferry lake
Well I think I fanally have the Nightwind at a point where I’m happy. Have had several days out with no squaks and am getting fairly comfortable. The next step for me is to find an inexpensive GPS chart plotter. Most of my sailing is for now going to be one inland lakes. While I’ve sailed our home lake for 35 or so years this isn’t nessessary to get around the lake. I do however want to learn to use this. I fly for a living so I understand gps and it’s use. I just want to apply it to marine use. No need to sail the same route around the lake each time out when maybe I can learn a bit. Thanks. Rog

Jun 2, 2004
Hunter 23.5 Calgary, Canada
Just curious, have you considered an app like Navionics on a phone or tablet instead of a chart plotter?

Jul 12, 2011
Leopard 40 Jupiter, Florida
Well I think I finally have the Nightwind at a point where I’m happy.
Are you SURE you own a boat? I've never known a skipper that didn't want one more improvement / project / upgrade etc.;)
Anyhow, try getting a Garmin color handheld 78-series for about $300, and put it on the bench, or even mount it in the cockpit somewhere. If you progress beyond that and get into higher priced and easier to read displays, you can just keep it in your travel bag as a backup. With a handheld, you don't have to worry about wiring or mounting locations. BTW: make sure of your charts when you buy, as buying separately may cost an additional $100.

Jan 19, 2010
Hobie 16 & Rhodes 22 Skeeter Charleston
Just curious, have you considered an app like Navionics on a phone or tablet instead of a chart plotter?
:plus:

Unless you are going to be more than 2 miles from the coast, navonics on your phone along with the NOAA radar app is about all you really need. I LOVE my NOAA radar app. It just as necessary on land as it is on the water.

Jun 29, 2010
Beneteau First 235 Lake Minnetonka, MN