Mystery Through hulls

Status
Not open for further replies.

Mselv1

Jul 18, 2010
Hunter 27 Laurel Harbor
Hi I am a newbie to both the forums and to my '76 H27. So I must profess ignorance on this issue.
The boat was given to me after having been stored on stands for the past 5 years. I am attempting to repair all environmental damage I find and make her seaworthy and proceed from there. (1.5 feet of water in the cockpit, Wiring mess etc)
I have 2 mystery thru hulls at the bottom of the transom. (see pic) They pass thru the transom and have no plumbing attached once on the dry side of the hull! Is this correct? Am I misunderstanding their purpose?
The boat has been modified over the years so anything is possible. All comments are appreciated.
Regards,
Mark

Attachments

Jun 2, 2004
Hunter 37-cutter, '79 41 23' 30"N 82 33' 20"W--------Huron, OH
Have never seen that. Cockpit scuppers usually exit at or above the waterline. Are they capped inside? Or do they have shutoff valves or seacocks? That really is a mystery. I looked for some stern views on YachtWorld. All were like this 1979: http://www.yachtworld.com/core/list.../Newburyport/MA/United-States&boat_id=2046639 . Of course there were lots of changes from those earliest years. I could not find another '76 to compare.

Mselv1

Jul 18, 2010
Hunter 27 Laurel Harbor
Thanks Steve and Ed.
That is the mystery...No plugs or seacocks of any kind. My son crawled in the quarter berth to look at these, so I guess my next trip to the boat I will have to get my wide beam back in there and trace all plumbing. I am pretty sure the cockpit drains wye and exit through another thru hull below the waterline.
Not 100% sure of anything as we have only been to the boat twice and the first time was to de-water the cabin and remove all the moldy contents.
I'll investigate further and post a followup next week.
Thanks again.

Mar 6, 2008
Catalina 1999 C36 MKII #1787 Coyote Point Marina, CA.