Macgregor 26D 1987 project restoration

Jul 3, 2018
Macgregor 26D Trailer Sailor
So, I bought a 1987 Macgregor 26D last week , with trailer, that has been sitting in the desert for over 5 years. Almost all of the hardware is rusted and the deck is soft on both sides of the forward hatch, but the pieces are all there. The port side shroud deck hardware was somehow pulled through the deck presenting a small fiberglass repair. After reading that you guys like to see projects, I hope I can successfully navigate posting pictures so I can here feedback from Mac 26D owners.

I bought the boat from a friend of a friend who needed the money, $3600, so I paid the asking price. It's been sailed primarily in the San Francisco Bay by the second owners, and I'm the 3rd. I'm new to sailing but not new to boating, but have been off the water for awhile. So I hope this project helps my 12 year old son and me learn repairs and rigging while I complete ASA 101 and 103 sailing courses, and offer me timely opportunity to learn to sail. I too would like to cruise with a live aboard in a few years while keeping this Mac 26 D trailer sailor ready to travel, Great Lakes, San Juan islands, San Fran bay, etc. , feeling it's best for protected waters. Anyways, here we go.

Jul 3, 2018
So, here are some pictures from last week. The boat was pretty nasty due to neglect so my first order is to clean. My plan is to assess, repair, upgrade, sail. Any feedback is welcomed, positive and/or negative.

Attachments

Jul 3, 2018
Here it is after a little work. I think the daggerboard is in pretty great condition for a patch and paint, showing a before, and then after sanding. I'm allotting $5400 for the boat project bringing the total cost to $9000, so any input on how to spend the cash would be welcomed also. I ordered me disk break assembly for the trailer and a few new parts like upgraded sink faucet with water bag, ballast sealing gasket, daggerboard rope, rudder rigging...

Attachments

Sumner