Looking to upgrade our sailing experience

Nov 21, 2007
Beneteau Oceanis 34 Kingston, WA
Looking for insights and advise on selecting the right sails and equipment. Specifically, using a Code Zero vs. an asymmetrical spinnaker in light to moderate summertime wind in the Puget Sound area. I'm more interested in versatility and a boosting performance in a broader range of wind angles and conditions than in outright performance in a specific situation or condition.

Background; my wife and I have been sailing for about 10 years, maybe a little less. We sail in light wind in the Puget Sound, only between May and late October. We started sailing with a club and a Catalina Capri 22. The first boat we owned was a Beneteau First 285, we now have an Oceanis 34. With the 34, we've basically doubled our accommodations space (over the First 285), and we are loving the time that we spend cruising our region.

But now we would like to upgrade our sailing experience to match the upgrade in our accommodations, especially in light to moderate wind. The 285 was very light and had a great sail plan for the light wind area where we sail, which is exactly why I searched for it. The Oceanis 34 has given us that stability that we were looking for in more open parts of the sound and beyond, but it takes a fair amount of breeze just to get it moving. I don't want to rely on motoring to get us from one spot to the next, I'd like to be able to sail whenever it's possible. We have an asymmetrical spinnaker, but find it a little cumbersome.

P.S., feel free to chime in on things like whisker poles vs. spinnaker poles, preventers, and even level setting WRT how far we should realistically be looking to travel in a day...
Thanks!

Oct 22, 2014
CAL 35 Cruiser #21 moored EVERETT WA
Dave.
You really need to define the sailing need. The Code 0 can be designed to do different things.
  1. Wind range up to 8 knots
  2. Narrow angled flat or full girthed
  3. 80 to 135 degrees upwind reacher or