Lewmar Windlass Power

Mar 29, 2009
Beneteau Oceanis 361 New Bern
I have a 2001 361 Beneteau and I'm sad to say I never tested the windlass in the last four years I have owned her. We are now planning on going up the ICW and anchoring will be required. It appears totally dead after hooking up the Lewmar switch to the plug in the bow anchor locker. Pressing UP or DOWN doesn't have any effect. Is there a switch on the Lewmar windlass? I didn't see it mentioned in the directions.

I went to the panel in the stern cabin behind the engine and tested the fuse. It appears to be engaged. When I press on the fuse's red button a black arm swings down on the other side of the fuse. When I push that arm back up the fuse appears to be engaged. Obviously, I have never done this before so please be patient.:doh:

With the fuse engaged there still is no action from the control unit's UP/DOWN buttons attached to the bow anchor locker plug. Is there another power switch I need to be aware of before I start tracing the source of the power problem? Do you have any suggestions on where to look first? My guess is the anchor has never been dropped by the previous owner, since she only day sailed and kept the boat at a marina slip.

Rick I

Jan 6, 2007
CS36Merlin and Beneteau 393 - Toronto
Some Beneteau windlasses will not work unless the engine is running. Was your engine on when you tried the windlass out?

Mar 29, 2009
Beneteau Oceanis 361 New Bern
Some Beneteau windlasses will not work unless the engine is running. Was your engine on when you tried the windlass out?
No, I can certainly give that a quick try. Thank you for the suggestion.

Oct 3, 2008
Beneteau 361 Seattle
Confirming engine needs to be running on 361

I have a 2000 361 and you do have to have the engine on to use the windlass. Hopefully this will be a quick fix!

May 20, 2011
Beneteau Clipper 323 St Peter Port