Just bought a Catalina 270 and have some questions

Dec 7, 2015
Catalina 270 Bradenton, FL
Hi everyone!

I have recently acquired a 1993 Catalina 270 (hull #0001!) and this forum seems like a great resource. This is my first boat, and while I have a decent working knowledge of how to sail it, I have next to no experience with things like Diesel engines, electrical systems and the like.

I am also new to the world of online forums, so I read through the forum rules and will hopefully avoid any faux pas.

I have a whole list of projects, but for the sake of keeping the threads organized, it seems like creating one thread for each is the preferred method. So I'll start with the one that I am losing the most sleep over: the bilge is a real mess.

Not only is there oil in it (separate thread on that topic forthcoming), but it seems the PO (previous owner?) removed the original bilge pump and replaced it with the one in the picture. I'm not too happy with the wiring job, as I'm told those wire nuts have no place on a boat, especially in the bilge. The original factory configuration was a hose led to a remote pump under the galley sink, presumably because the hose could more easily access the bottom of what is a very narrow space down there.

I looked at reconfiguring to the original remote pump setup, but honestly, the space under the galley sink intimidates me a little. There is an unplumbed water heater and a bird's nest of other hoses in there. I can either look inside, or put my arm in there, but not both at the same time. Such is life on a 27 foot sailboat I guess.

So the questions are:

1. Any general advice for a first timer on accessing and working in those ridiculously small and hidden spaces on these boats?

2. Does anyone have experience with a using a configuration in a 270 like the one pictured, and does it do a decent job of keeping the bilge serviceable? Or should I screw up my courage and deal with reinstalling a remote pump under the galley sink?