Is the Catalina 309 a nightmare to sail?

Status
Not open for further replies.
Dec 15, 2012
Catalina 309 Boston
First let me start out with the fact that I am new to boat ownership but not new to sailing. I am a new owner of a 2006 Catalina 309. I sail out of the Boston area and if it's blowing more than 10 knots (which it usually is) this boat is a handful, on its ear and for all my efforts I can't get this boat on it's feet.If it blows 18 to 20 knots it's a real nightmare, scary! I reef the main, shorten the foresail haul in on the outhaul on and on and the boat is just impossible for me to balance.I've had the rig tuned hoping that might help but no improvement. I am getting very frustrated and worried that this is a marina queen and not a boat that likes to sail. I have tried many combinations of sail adjustments and cant seem to find the right one. It also regularly over powers the auto-helm. I just hope it's me and not the boat, hate to think I bought the wrong boat. I realize that the in mast furling main has very limited trim options but c'mon it's a sail boat right? Any sail trim advice will be greatly appreciated.

Feb 26, 2004
Catalina 34 224 Maple Bay, BC, Canada
I think you have the right boat and she sails very well. It's essentially a slightly modified updated Catalina 30, and they made over 6,000 of them! Really. You seem to be doing the right things from your descriptions, except for the comment about the limitations of in mast furling for the main - it should be endless not limited.

Have you considered taking other sailors out with you? (I'd be glad to come, but I'm on the wrong side of the country :), and there are so many C30s sailing here on windy San Francisco Bay that I doubt it's the boat.) Do you have Don Guilette's excellent Sail Trim chart and book available right here on this website? Just don't know from your description how much you do know, even with what you said.