Is an early 1990s Legend Passage 42 a good buy?

Status
Not open for further replies.
J

Jess1485

Hi all

I have been looking at an early 90s Passage 42, and think she is beautiful, but I don't know if she is the boat for me.

I am a very novice sailor, and my partner and I just want to cruise from port to port in the Med and enjoy life. I am in love with the accommodation and presentation, but I keep being warned of poor performance at sea and poor workmanship.

Any advice/views gratefully received.

Jessica

Rick D

Jun 14, 2008
Hunter Legend 40.5 Shoreline Marina Long Beach CA
"but I keep being warned of poor performance at sea and poor workmanship" .... brought to you by folks who never sailed or cruised in one. Nonsense. Go to the boats tab on top of the page and look for the Passage 42 tab (make sure you are in the correct series) and read the reviews. You can contact some of the owners via that also to ask specific questions. I wound up with a 40.5 but was looking into a 42 as well (when I couldn't find a Vision 36). Having said that, you will need to do the same due diligence as you would with any other boat of that vintage for how you intend to use it. Good luck.

KD3PC

Sep 25, 2008
boatless rainbow Callao, VA
Passage 42

We own a 1991 Passage 42 and love the boat. It is roomy and really sound construction. Systems are easy to get to for the most part and again of decent quality. It is a great liveaboard, especially if you like your wife...the aft full size berth is awesome. Our Sabre required climbing up over and then turning around, so the wife loves this arrangement.

She sails well and motors well, but is a tad large to dock and fuel if you are moving up from something smaller. Even coming from a 38' we are still getting comfortable moving her in and out. We have dutchman on the main and roller furler on the jib. Ours is rigged for staysail, and that takes a bit of practice and motion to get the job over easily.