Ideas for mounting second battery in a H23.5

Sep 19, 2016
Caliber 33 Sebastian, FL
I'm converting to electric propulsion for my H23.5. There is a flat spot in one cabin locker big enough for one battery. I have some wood working experience and access to wood working tools but no experience with fiberglass. My initial thought was to build box to house the batteries out of exterior plywood but mounting it is interesting since it has to mate with the curve of the outer hull. I can try to cut the sides so that they conform to the shape of the hull but I was hoping someone might have a better idea...

May 24, 2004
CC 30 South Florida
Not really, just make a template out of cardboard to follow the contours of the hull. Batteries are heavy so consider strength and boat balance.

Jan 19, 2010
Hobie 16 & Rhodes 22 Skeeter Charleston
Take a drafting compass and set the cardboard against the curved hull... then with one tip of the compass on the hull, make a mark with the other tip on the cardboard... keep doing this as you move along the hull and you will transcribe the exact curve of the hull onto the cardboard. Cut the cardboard along the marks, make sure it lines up against the curve of the hull ... then use the cardboard to trace out the curve on your plywood.

Once you have the box fit, you will want to tab it to the hull with strips of resin soaked fiberglass. Then paint it.

Jun 8, 2004
-na -NA Anywhere USA
PR
Since you are in Florida assuming on the coast, you may want to consider how much time you will have on one battery leaving the second for other whether or not you are in coastal waters vs. lake. At least you can refill a gas tank but not a battery if depleted as solar takes a while to recharge if going that route as well. Can you advise intent.

Sep 19, 2016
Caliber 33 Sebastian, FL
I'm wondering about keeping it removable for now since I expect that the box will eventually rot.

Sep 19, 2016
Caliber 33 Sebastian, FL