Help!! Did I make a huge mistake?

May 15, 2016
Catalina 22 Toronto
Hi, Just picked up a 1987 Catalina 22 Swing keel with pop top. I need a bit of advice as the boat is a project and a bit rough. There are some issues with the swing keel that have me concerned. I'm just getting into keel boats and thought this would make a good starter boat. I don't really know much about keel boats really but I have done some research and also have experience with small power boats like ski boats with outboards etc. Here are some of the good and bad things I have seen so far

The Bad:

- The boat was sitting for 5-10yrs and really neglected so it looks terrible and has things growing on it.
- The swing keel lifting cable system is not working. The cable snapped and it looks like someone replaced the cable but didn't attach it to the keel. Makes me think the eye bolt in the keel is missing or broken.
- The boat was in saltwater at least part of its life
- There is some water damage to a lot of the wood partitions inside the boat. The wood outside is pretty bad but might be able to be saved.
- missing winches for the jib (only the 2 near the back are there the 2 on top of the cabin were removed)
- a lot of the lines need to be replaced or are missing
- holes in the boat where gauges used to be
- mast was stored on the ground and was buried in leaves and dirt. Lifting line for the sails was out of the mast and in bad shape.

The Good:
- The boat seems really solid. I had a 220lbs friend walk around on the deck and there didn't seem to be any soft spots or a lot of flexing anywhere. The boat isn't sinking into the trailer at all lol.
- The interior cushions are all in really good shape, a bit dirty but nothing a steam clean won't fix
- Trailer is pretty good with brand new rims and tires
- there is very little water streaks on the inside of the cabin
- no cracks, bubbles or damage to hull