Hello.

Status
Not open for further replies.
Oct 2, 2006
Hunter 170 Kentucky
Hello All, I just wanted to drop into this forum and introduce myself. I just bought a used Hunter 170 (2002 model) this weekend. I am looking forward to getting it out on the water and testing it out. I came from owning an older hunter 23 which we sold a couple of years ago. Since I am new to this boat I am going to have a lot of questions and I hope you all can answer them. Looking forward to meeting you all, Tim Hayes

Mar 8, 2005
Hunter 170 Ventura, California
Congratulations on the new boat

Hi Tim, Welcome, there are several good post that have been written on the 146 / 170 Let us know how your doing on the 170, she is light, fast and fun to sail. Glenn

Oct 2, 2006
Hunter 170 Kentucky
Thanks!

Glenn, Thanks, glad to meet you. I am excited to get the boat out. This coming Sunday may be the first time. Any suggestions you have would be appreciated. Tim

J

john

Hi Tim

Hi Tim, I will be interested to know how you find the 170. It seems several owners that post here have "down-sized" to the 170, or have other small boat experience, while for others like me, it's a first boat. Virtually all of my learning curve has been learning to sail, I really have no idea how the 170 compares to other boats, this is why I will be interested in your comments. How long is your sailing season in KY?? John

Sep 5, 2006
Hunter 170 Little Rock, AR
welcome

Tim, I also downsized, from a Spirit 6.5 to the 170, this summer. So far I love the boat. It's so easy to get set-up and in the water. I will caution you to take it easy at first. I'm still getting used to how tender the boat is compared to my spirit. After a while though, you will appreciate and become comfortable with it. It will definatly make you a better sailor, because of the instant feedback the boat gives. Our season in AR is still going strong, it will be 90 degrees this weekend so i'm heading out myself. Good luck and enjoy your 170.