head sea cocks

Jun 23, 2015
Hunter H34 Deltaville
Tracking down the stink in my new (to me) H34 I found a PO attempted to repair the top connection to the holding tank with a few screws, apparently a long time ago as there is significant rot in the floor and bottom of seat. The two seacocks for the head are black and the discharge is frozen in the open position.

I'm new to all of this on a boat but not to plumbing so I have two large pipe wrenches but they don't fit due to the curvature of the hull. I am very leery of putting side pressure on the hull to break the joint. I have experience with radiator "spud" wrenches that are similar to steep wrench that go inside of the fitting but from my experience this will require way too much force on the small nipples inside and will probably break them off.

Unless someone has an alternative my plan is to use a sawzall to cut the valve & ell off then cut the retaining nut off the thru hull fittings and replace both. I have looked at several threads about replacing with true thru hull fittings but none have addressed this situation.

I assume the blacking of the fittings is from the leaking tank.
Thanks

Attachments

Aug 26, 2015
Edel 820CC Whitby,ontario
the blueishness looks like corrosion from hydrogen sulphide (i think thats what its called) its from decomposting organic material primarily blackwater. an angle grinder may cut with less vibration. that fitting is not going to be fun to get off.

Dec 2, 1997
- - LIttle Rock
I wouldn't try to repair any of that...it'll cost you more than replacing it all.