H23 transom reinforcement Q

ryan_s

Apr 2, 2018
Hunter 23 Panama City, FL
Hello all,
I’ve been stalking this forum for a couple years now and love the wealth of info.

Quick question for the more experienced though, I’m wondering if I’ve sufficiently reinforced the transom?
I’m considering adding an aluminum back plate horizontally across the interior near the top of the transom for adding strength. Thoughts?

Thanks again!

Attachments

Jan 19, 2010
Hobie 16 & Rhodes 22 Skeeter Charleston
It is probably okay but if you already have the plate, might as well be on the safe side.

Rob

ryan_s

Apr 2, 2018
Rob,
Thank you for the input and the I am only missing the thru bolts and nuts (couple bucks at the hardware store). Just wanted some reassurance that it looked good and wouldn't fall off...:wahwah:

Jun 8, 2004
-na -NA Anywhere USA
Backing plates are used to distribute the load. Never put a motor exceeding 10 hp on the transom. You will not go any faster and it is a standard mfg design for motors up to 10 hp only. J

ryan_s

Apr 2, 2018
I plan to put a smaller motor on when I save up enough cash (the 15 was the only long shaft that we could find in our area). I don't expect I'll use much over 1/2 throttle, more concerned about weight. I've seen some others that have beefed up the transom and I'd like to do the same.

Apr 27, 2010
Hunter 23 Lake Wallenpaupack
I would recommend butyl rubber to seal the holes, as you don't want an adhesive or you'll never get the mount off. It stays sticky, fills gaps well and can be peeled off.
With a motor that heavy (150 lbs?) I'd watch how much the fiberglass transom flexes as you use it. I have a Honda 8 that is about 80 lbs and that is about as big as I'd ever want.

Jan 22, 2008
Islander Freeport, 41 Ketch Longmont, CO