Elect. Trolling motor 1968 Venture 21?

Jun 14, 2011
Hunter 22 Fin Keel Lake Martin
I used a 21lb thrust trolling motor for a year on my ODay 23 with good results. Granted I'm a lake sailor but it'd get me up to 5 knots fairly easy.

Nov 17, 2013
Catalina 22 Scottsdale, AZ
what pound thrust motor and how fast will it push the boat?
I just bought a 1973 Venture 21 and subsequently purchased a 55 lb thrust trolling motor to go with it. I believe I spent $230 on the trolling motor and I don't think I would have gone with less thrust than that.

I had it out on December 1 and it pushed the boat pretty well. We used it to leave the dock and sailed for a couple of hours before the wind died. We then used it to return to the dock (about 20 minutes of motoring) and then it took me about another 15-20 minutes to put the boat on the trailer - because I'm a rookie.

Minn-kota C2 Endura 55 is the model I purchased. I think the "Max" is a step up from that model and has a battery monitor of some sort. That would be nice as I had no idea how much battery was left. I would like some sort of battery monitor before putting myself in a place where it might be necessary to motor very far.

One concern I still have is use in salt water - if I decide to take the boat to San Diego or to Rocky Point, MX (I live in the Phoenix, AZ area).

Going out tomorrow again and will give additional feedback to the extent trip #2 changes my assessment.

Jan 10, 2011
Macgregor 25 675 Lake Lanier
The recoil on my engine broke the day I was leaving Florida. I was in a slip at the Sarasota Sailing Squadron. There was a 20mph wind pushing me into the slip along with the very fast tide. I have a 55lb thrust electric motor as a backup. It was able to pull me stern first out of the slip and over to the dock next to the ramp.

I used an electric until I could find a good outboard. I still use it on quiet evenings when I just want to cruise silently.