Drinking water

Mar 6, 2017
Catalina 28 Mk2 Middle River, Maryland
I would like to be able to drink the water in my holding tanks without worry of contaminations. Is there a ready made system that I could attach to the system.

Hagar

Jan 22, 2008
Catalina 42 Olympia Washington
Dec 2, 1997
- - LIttle Rock
I use the same sanitizing process for our sailboat as I do for our motor home.
https://www.rvtrader.com/research/news-reviews/press-room/rv-how-tips-sanitize-your-rv-water-system
That's an abbreviated version of the same instructions I've been sharing for 25 years--and have also included in my books. You'll find 'em on just about every RV site on the net. Detailed instructions are here:
http://forums.sailboatowners.com/index.php?threads/bleach-into-water-system.178928/#post-1293062

PaulK

Dec 1, 2009
Sabre 402 Southport, CT
We put tapwater from the dock's hose into our water tanks. It is chlorinated and has fluoride as well. This seems to be enough to keep bacteria at bay. We drink and cook with it. When it gets low we top it up again. At the end of the season we blow the system dry with an air compressor. If the water were to become contaminated for some reason we'd empty the tank, clean it, and refill it. Haven't had any trouble since 1997, filling up whenever we needed water from whatever dock we tied up to, from Mt. Desert to NYC.

Feb 11, 2017
former Tartan 30 New London, CT area
My feeling is why carry water if you can't drink it. Sterilizing the tank with Clorox and a mild application of Clorox to keep growth at bay is a standard technique. Don't overdo the Clorox for the long term - the chlorine had an adverse affect on the nylon hose fittings. A carbon block filter removes any taste of chlorine. I use a carbon filter only at the galley, not in the head.