Couldn't say it better

Jan 24, 2009
1981 Cherubini Hunter 27 Shipwright Harbor Marina, MD
As a former soldier, I would have counseled differently, but my nephew joined the Marines and is now at Quantico going through OCS. He graduates next Saturday, hasn't decided whether he wants to go back to Field Artillery or possibly Infantry.

Dec 2, 1997
- - LIttle Rock
And on this Veterans Day remember these words, written by a Marine:

It was the Veteran, not the reporter, who has given us freedom of the press.
It was the Veteran, not the poet, who has given us freedom of speech.
It was the Veteran, not the lawyer, who has given us the right to fair trial.
It was the Veteran, not the campus organizer, who has given us freedom to demonstrate.
It is the Veteran, who salutes the flag, who served under the flag, and whose coffin is draped by the flag,
who allows the protester to burn the flag.

-- Father Denis Edward O'Brien, USMC

Oct 22, 2014
CAL 35 Cruiser #21 moored EVERETT WA
Ron... From a couple of past joyful experiences I conclude that Marines love parties. They are really party animals. If you can play it loud and throw in a set with the Marine Corps anthem you will be a hit. Memory challenges and all.

Oct 19, 2017
O'Day 19 Littleton, NH
My father was sailing somewhere in the South Pacific when he found himself on an island where a celebration was going on. There were numerous countries marching in a parade, British, French, Philippine,..., and American armed forces, from their various encampments, all had a company to show off. My father (US Navy) noticed how polished and organized each country's troops were except the Americans. Navy, Army, Airforce and Marines marched in their own squads. Only the Marines turned out in dress blues and marched with professionalism and coordination. He felt the rest of the armed forces showed a lack of respect for their host country as if to suggest the local event was beneath them. He was embarrassed for them.