Checking in!

Jun 19, 2017
MacGregor 26D Oscoda, MI
Hello! I am new to sailing and just bought a MacGregor 26D. Looking forward to learning from all of you veterans!

Dave

Apr 19, 2012
O'Day Daysailor 17 Nevis MN
Welcome Dave! Congratulations! The 26D is a very nice choice in my opinion. We love ours.

Apr 19, 2012
Tell us a little about yourself and about your boat.

Do you have any sailing experience? How much? Is this your first boat?

What condition is your boat? Does it have any mods? Is it ready to sail? What condition are the sails? Did you get an outboard? ............

Jun 19, 2017
MacGregor 26D Oscoda, MI
I don't have much experience. The boat is in really good shape. Needs cleaning, new nets and lines. It comes with an outboard. I am not sure what the make and model of that is tbh. I do not think it has any mods but I haven't spent a ton of time in it yet. We are going to bring it here and start cleaning it tomorrow. My best friend has a lot of experience and is working with me on this project.

Apr 19, 2012
We all started with little or no experience so that's okay. Take your time learning and have fun with it. Take a sailing class if you can. I hope you have a good place to sail near by. When we first got our V-222 the nearest lake big enough to sail it on was a little over an hour away, which wasn't too bad. After a year or so of sailing there a crack was discovered in the dam so the water was let out. Now the nearest water is the Pacific Ocean which is a 4 hour drive. That's the pits but I'll be leaving here soon.

Go ahead and take everything out of the boat (except the foam). Empty all the compartments and clean them out. This will also help you lean where everything is. Don't be afraid to take a hose to the inside and wash everything down. The water won't hurt anything and you can easily suck it all back out with either a bilge pump or a shop-vac.

Oct 29, 2016
Hunter 41 DS Port Huron