CDI Furler Question

Tom R

Jul 15, 2017
Hunter 25.5 Marlboro NY
I am in process of renovating my Hunter 25.5. I would like to take down the jib off the roller but it is not clear to me how to do it. As far as I can tell the jib halyard is not attached to the jib and I see these complicated knots attaching the sail by the PO. I don't think I could ever duplicate this and seems overly complicated. I have never done this sort of thing before.

Any thoughts?

Feb 20, 2011
Island Packet 35 Tucson, AZ/San Carlos, MX
Any thoughts?
Have you read the manual?
It will explain the use of a messenger line tied to the halyard's end if you don't drop the mast for this operation.
Those "complicated" knots appear to be at the tack.

Aug 1, 2011
Catalina 270 255 Wabamun. Welcome to the marina
That's a CDI indeed. Get the manual and familiarize yourself with it. @justsomeguy is absolutely right, with one more bit of data; that's likely the storage place for the messenger line.

Aug 1, 2011
That's sort of how we used to deal with the excess. Not quite as artistic though.

Jun 8, 2004
-na -NA Anywhere USA
Manual for the CDI FF2 is posted under the Hunter 26/260 downloads under boat information as of two weeks ago. Please review that and if you have any questions after reviewing that, get back with us. However, there is an internal jib halyard within the furler groove. First untie the down haul line on the furling drum. You will need to untie the internal halyard line on the furling drum and add a messenger line to it so when the sail comes down you will be able to pull it back up.

Tom R

Jul 15, 2017
Hunter 25.5 Marlboro NY