Cabin top winches and genoa sail

Jul 20, 2018
Catalina Capri 18 Everett, WA
Hello all,
I am a novice sailor and owner of a Capri 18. My boat only has jib winches, cleats and blocks mounted on the cabin top.

1. Can I use a larger head sail without adding another set of winches, cleats, blocks to the cockpit coaming? Currently the block is all the way forward on its track for use with the standard jib and I can't imagine any situation where I would need to adjust it back with this sail. (Maybe a storm jib?) If that is the case, why the track? To my eye, moving the track back as far as possible would still not allow it to work with a larger sail. The shrouds look like they would be in the way.

2. I have been scouring google images for pics of Catalina's with winches on the cabin top, most have added winches, cleats and blocks to the coaming. Except for the one pictured below. It looks like they have just added a block and then pull the sheet up to the winches on the cabin top. Does anyone have any experience with this setup? My goal is to drill as few holes into my new boat as possible!

Any advice or direction is welcome.
Cheers

My boat's rigging looks just like this except for the block and track located near the safety line stanchion.

Jan 4, 2010
Farr 30 San Francisco
Well it looks to me like you can. The headsail can have a foot as long as the distance from the forestay to the block on the track in its aft most position. Once the jib sheet has been led through the block how do the winch and cleats know how big the jib is? They can stay in the same position. Consult with a sailmaker perhaps or maybe make your own measurements and try to find a used sail.

SG

Feb 11, 2017
J/Boat J/160 Annapolis
Your lead to the winch on the coach roof looks like it intended for a working jib directly to the winch from forward through the block ahead of each the winches. If you try to lead from the aft block to the coach roof winch it must NOT rub on the fiberglass.