Best Overall trailer sailboat under $4000 21'-26'

Status
Not open for further replies.
Aug 26, 2009
dont have one yet none New Port RIchey
Hello, I am pretty much new to sailboats in general and I am looking for the best overall trailerable sail boat between 21'-26' and under $4000. I have been reading up a lot about the different manufactures, keel types, cabin types, specs, prices, etc, so I am pretty familiar with the models and terminology, but I am just making sure I am on the right track.

List of needs:
1. I live in West Central FL so a swing keel or centerboard would be nice to navigate the sandbars.
2. Needs to be trailerable, but I may have access to a free mooring lot on a channel (but I may have to do random chores for a friend of the family). Would also like to take it to the Keys every now and then
3. I have a lot of powerboat experience, but little sailing, I plan on attend a local sailing school in the near future, but I would like to have something that sails well,
4. I like the prospect of racing, so a fast boat would be an obvious plus.
**5. I will need an outboard, but I am not considering this as a part of the boat since I can get those separate from the boat.
6. Maintenance and parts may also be a factor, I don't want to purchase a boat and not find any parts for it

Things I don't really need:
1. I don't plan on doing many over-nighters, but a decent sized cabin would be nice for entertaining during a day out on the island. I intend to eventually move to a larger boat if i really want to travel longer distances.
2. I don't need many electronics, I don't plan on going far. I also have downloaded a couple of really nice boating apps onto my iPhone, which has GPS and nautical charts, tide charts, point of sail calculator (very cool for a newbie), and knot guide, so I am pretty well set there.