Backstay diagrams

Aug 30, 2016
Hunter 23 Tyler
I am looking for an image or diagram of a split backstay for a Hunter 23. I'm having trouble figuring out what all I have here. I know I'm missing a shackle, but I'm also a little confused a bit on the mount points and extra blocks in my system.

If anyone has some pics, I'd really appreciate the help...

IMG_6822.JPG
IMG_6825.JPG
IMG_6826.JPG

Aug 30, 2016
Hunter 23 Tyler
After doing much digging, I feel fairly certain the extra blocks near the backstay mounts are not part of the splitstay system. I've found the shackles I need, so if anyone has any idea what the blocks are a part of, I'd love to hear it.

Forgive my dumb questions. I'm new to all this. :)

Aug 30, 2016
Hunter 23 Tyler
Backstay mystery solved. Found an old pic. Now to figure out the extra lines on mast and the blocks on the stern.
6ACB0E23-FCA5-4A21-8DE8-9AA851598263.jpeg

Apr 27, 2010
Hunter 23 Lake Wallenpaupack
I'm not sure which lines you refer to as "extra" on the mast. The one your finger looks like it is pulling is probably the upper shroud, that should go down to the end of the spreader (looks like that is the starboard side, as I think the wire on the upper side of the mast must be the forestay), held on by a sort of u-bolt, and then down to the outermost chain plate turnbuckle on the deck.
I can't help with the backstay, as mine does not have an adjustable backstay. On mine, two stays attach to the tangs on the stern (not the embedded "bar" that acts as a stern cleat on the 23) with turnbuckles. These lead up to a pair of triangular plates, where the eye at the top of each stay is held in between the plates with a clevis pin. The backstay from the mast crane then attaches to the top corner of this triangle. Other than the turnbuckles, I have no adjusting gear like blocks.