Anyone have any comments on the new hunter 18

Jun 8, 2004
-na -NA Anywhere USA
Sure. First it is made of fiberglass and not the ACP construction. You will find positive foam floatation as required. In addition, suggest sailing no more than 12-14 degree heel adjusting your sails. It has been a long time since being on one but you will enjoy it.

jparks

Sep 26, 2007
Catalina 310 Lake St. Clair
bobby: What is "pinwheel"? I have been sailing for 30 years and don't know the term as a sailing term. Please educate me. Thanks.

Apr 16, 2017
Federation NCC-1701 Riverside
Ready to have your minds blown? Sailboats do not want to go forward when under sail, they want to spin stern over bow.

Overlay a sailboat on a clock so the bow is pointing right to 3:00, the stern is at the 9:00 position. The mast is at high noon. Under sail, the boat would rather spin clockwise rather than go forward. The axis of rotation depends but usually it's somewhere between the waterline and the bottom of the keel around midship.

The sails are well above the axis of rotation AND the sails exert some force. Its the opposite of a boat under power where the thrust is almost directly behind the axis of rotation and level with it.

Thought experiment. Instead of sails, imagine there is a line tied somewhere on a mast. It could be low against the deck, or up by the head. Initially, as you pull the line the boat will want to stay in place yet the mast will follow the string,

The physics are the same in any orientation. If you lay the boat on a table and pull the line the boat will spin until the the central axis is directly behind the line, then drag. If you yank the line the boat will have enough momentum to spin completely around. Like a pinwheel.