Another battery question , ahem

Jun 24, 2014
Westsail 28 72 Long Beach , California
Recently I had a battery charger installed on our boat , the electrician and I started on with the operation and I forget why but I checked the voltage on the battery's . The house bank (open flood) was at float 13.2 and the starter batt. (sealed acid) was at 12.7 . The charger we were replacing was the sealed electronic multi stage type and was about 15 yrs. old . Normally that charger kept both batts. floating the same , 13.2 . I thought doesn't matter because we are installing a new charger , (house and starter are about 3 yrs . old) . Now it's the same starter will not charge higher than 12.7. My first thought is the starter batt. is on it's last legs ?
My electrical guy said open flood and sealed acid mix will be ok with the new charger , I don't really believe him . Is he wrong ?
And lastly how critical is the float voltage ? With my new charger it's programmable , I'm still learning to program it . On one setting it was floating 13.2 need 13.5 on another setting it was floating 13.8 .
Thanks , Mark .

May 17, 2004
Beneteau Oceanis 37 Havre de Grace
When you say your starter is sealed acid I presume you mean "maintenance free" flooded lead acid. The other possibility is AGM. If it's just a sealed flooded lead acid then it's the same chemistry as your house bank, so it should be fine to use the same charge voltages. The voltages for AGM could be different.

The fact that your starter is staying at 12.7 makes me think it's just not charging at all. That is a standard resting voltage. If the battery were failing it would still charge at the voltage the charger tries to give it, unless it were really internally shorted, in which case it would be way under 12. What does your wiring look like? How is the charger connected to the two banks?

Jan 11, 2014
Sabre 362 113 Fair Haven, NY
What model charger? How is it wired to the 2 batteries? How old is the start battery?