Anchor swing on a Hunter 33.5

tgrady

Nov 22, 2013
Hunter 33.5 North Vancouver
I am new to the cruising world and have a '92 Hunter 33.5 I have hooked up to a buoy and dropped an anchor and it seems that I swing back and forth more than other boats. It my be the location where I anchored but is seemed excessive. Anybody else have this issue or a way to limit it? Maybe it is the boat?

Jun 4, 2004
Hunter 410 Punta Gorda
Yes. No.
We all swing like that. You can try a riding sail but the easiest thing to do is just live with it. Others have commented on this and you can try a search but my advice is just accepted it and don't worry about it.

tgrady

Nov 22, 2013
New? I have a 1992 Hunter 33.5. And what is a fast reset anchor?

Also, maybe people are misinterpreting what I am a saying. I swing about 120 degrees around a pivot point of the bow. Maybe more to port than starboard.

Jun 4, 2004
Hunter 410 Punta Gorda
New meaning common era boats mostly from mid 80s on. Believe us, we know what you are talking about.

tgrady

Nov 22, 2013
Thank you all! Your responses were both informative and entertaining!

So I am looking at the riding sail solution. Seems like the FinDelta looks really nice but pricey. Do the other simple ones really work for about half the price? Anybody have experience with either? I really don't like swinging: two anchors are painful, a bridle has other complication, doesn't seem like a sea anchor would work in my water.

Sep 20, 2006
Hunter 33 Georgian Bay, Ontario, Canada
How much chain do you have. i.e. all chain, some chain or no chain.

Jun 4, 2004
Hunter 410 Punta Gorda
We tried a riding sail but got tired of it floping back and forth so got rid of it. It was also a pain to deploy.

tgrady

Nov 22, 2013
100 ft chain. 300 of rope. Last weekend was all the chain and 30 ft of rope in 25+
How about the wedge? That looks pretty easy.

Mar 11, 2015
Hunter 33.5 Tacoma, WA
Seems like the FinDelta looks really nice but pricey.