Ammeter installation

Weasel

May 23, 2004
Beneteau 331 Iuka, MS
Hi Gang,
I need some advice on installing a DC ammeter to keep tabs on my DC energy use. Nothing special on my boat, std battery charger and alternator. I have all LED lighting and have the standard wind, autopilot and depthsounder. I do have a fridge unit that is DC as well as a pressure water system. Question is how do I hook up an ammeter to my 2 house batteries. What size ammeter? 100 amps, 50 amps, and what is a shunt?
I am a mechanical engineer but I know nothing about the ammeter stuff. A schematic would help and a brief description.

Thanks in advance for any help,

Weasel

Feb 26, 2004
Catalina 34 224 Maple Bay, BC, Canada
Gunni mentions a competitive product, but wiring the Victron is a heckuva lot easier. I have a Heart Interface Link 2000 and it required running 16 wires!!! The Link Lite has lots less wires, but compered to the simple telephone plug on the Victron, it's like night and day.

Try this:
How to Wire a Battery Monitor by Maine Sail:
http://forums.catalina.sailboatowners.com/showthread.php?t=12560

You should also read this:

For everyone installing a battery monitor: The "Gotcha Algorithm" thread, a "MUST READ"

http://c34.org/bbs/index.php/topic,4922.0.html

DEFAULTS are factory settings that are made to be modified to suit your setup.

Also read this one:

Programming a Battery Monitor (by Maine Sail)

http://www.pbase.com/mainecruising/programming_a_battery_monitor

Feb 26, 2004
Catalina 34 224 Maple Bay, BC, Canada

Gunni

Mar 16, 2010
Beneteau 411 Oceanis Annapolis
The Balmar SmartGuage is a very simple to install product but it does not give you Amps and Amp/hours, which is the currency by which we manage our house electrical budget. I may install one as a second data feed for accurate battery voltage.

Feb 6, 1998
Canadian Sailcraft 36T Casco Bay, ME