Air conditioning maintenance.....

NYSail

Jan 6, 2006
Beneteau 423 Mt. Sinai, NY
So I am new to the boat a/c phenomena.... have two units that function off a single pump. Units both work well but just want to know what people do each season to keep them working. I vacuum the unit / clean filter but wonder above the water loop. Should this be flushed vigorously to get all salt deposits etc out? Should pump be dissembled and cleaned periodically?

Thanks!

Greg

Oct 1, 2007
Boston Whaler Super Sport Pt. Judith
Hi Greg:
I have pretty much the same setup. I clean the filters and the air passage screens. I also have an A/C service guy in every 2 years to check the units over, clean the coils, and check the refrigerant. Never had any problems in 11 years. They are pretty trouble free.
Rick

Gunni

Mar 16, 2010
Beneteau 411 Oceanis Annapolis
  • In the fall - remove the strainer and remove, close thru-hull valve, remove raw water hose connect to winterization bucket, flush the system with freshwater.
  • Vac out the condensate pan, remove /clean the condensate strainer, inspect/replace the condensate hose. Clean the condensate Venturi.
  • Blow out the seawater loop with inflatable boat air pump.
  • Suck AF through the loop.
  • Reconnect raw water hose to closed thru hull.
  • After haul, open thru hull and allow AF to to drain.

Dec 25, 2000
Hunter Passage 42 Shelter Bay, WA
We have the two original 1991 MarineAir reverse cycle heat pumps on our boat. Other than topping off refrigerant once two years ago for the aft cabin unit, both remain reliable operators. Seldom use them except when at the dock with shore power during the winter months. No seasonal maintenance here, but do check and clean the sea water strainer maybe once every, or other season.

capta

Jun 4, 2009
Pearson 530 Admiralty Bay, Bequia SVG