Advice on a purchase!

Catdad

Jan 29, 2018
Catalina Capri 22 Unknown
Greetings!
Newbie here, but I’m pretty close to pulling the trigger on my first sailboat. I’ve been lurking for years, and I’ve decided I want a Catalina.

I’m currently looking at a one owner, 1990 22’ Capri, wing keel. In general, it seems to be in very good shape, including a new main and Genoa. Super clean interior. Asking $4000. Includes a 4hp outboard that is on its last leg and trailer looks just ok. I’m contemplating an offer in the $3k range.

My questions: while inspecting this weekend, the hull seemed to be in good shape. No obvious patches or damage. No soft spots. Keel looks pristine. However, I did notice a couple of fiberglass issues that I need help with. Near the forward hatch I saw some cracking in the deck (pics attached). How bad is this? Is it safe to assume some water is working its way inside? Does this require immediate attention? How is this repaired?

Also, while looking at the hull, I noticed at small amount “wavering” in the fiberglass on the starboard side, behind the keel (pic attached but you need to look closely). Is this common and just a reflection of the build quality or something more?

Thanks all! This is an incredible site for those looking to get into sailing. I hope to be an owner someday soon!
2D48CE21-2092-464E-BDC3-C6AAE35CBF17.jpeg

FF37C73B-2FFB-4811-98D0-1420F4A1DEDE.jpeg

jwing

Jun 5, 2014
ODay Mariner Guntersville
The cracks along both sides of the mast step could mean nothing significant, but they could mean a repair job is needed. Check the compression post and the structure of the boat on both ends of the compression post. Often, the compression post is sitting on a block of wood. If that wood gets water-logged, it can lose its compressive strength. The compression post sinks down, transferring some of the weight onto the deck. If that is the case, then reseat the compression post. You'll want to seal the cracks in the deck, too.