240 Recommended keel position when docked?

Sep 20, 2016
Hunter 240 Holland, MI
I realize this is an opinion question, but I am new to the 240 and it's getting close to launch time!
I am in a marina for the summer and I was wondering about leaving the swing keel up or down while the boat is docked? I sail most weekends, but I may only get to the marina mid week a few times per season. This means she is bobbing around at the dock most of the time.
I know the keel is not weighted (ballast weight anyway!) but I don't know about wear and tear on the system to raise and lower it all the time, or to have the keel just hanging around under there.
Do you think it's better to pull up the keel, or leave it down when docked?
Thoughts!

Jan 19, 2010
Hobie 16 & Rhodes 22 Skeeter Charleston
I bring mine up. Not sure if that is the right move but my thinking is that if it is constantly wobbling to and fro and side-to-side... it will wear something out sooner than if raise it and it stays relatively still.

Jun 2, 2004
Hunter 23.5 Calgary, Canada
Interesting question, although it's never occurred to me.

My marina is very exposed, with only floating logs and tires as a breakwater. During a storm, I'm sure I couldn't stand on my dock finger without being thrown off my feet.

My centerboard has been down all season (only 4 months long here) for 15 seasons now. It hasn't fallen off but of course I have no way of knowing if it's wearing faster being down, or if the up/down haul mechanism would wear faster using it every time I go out. Actually, I already lift it maybe once every time I go out, either to anchor in very shallow water or to get an extra .5 to 1 knot while motoring.

May 24, 2004
CC 30 South Florida