1999 or 98 Yanmar 36 HP, Model no. 3JH2E has bluish white exhaust

Apr 30, 2016
Hunter 376 Port of Los Angeles
My Yanmar 1999 or 98 Diesel, model no. 3JH2E, 36 HP, 3 cylinder has bluish white exhaust. The hour meter reads 373 hours. (so it saids for a 20 year old Yanmar). Engine does look clean. No leaks and no major residue.

The engines starts up with no problems. And runs good. All though I’m a newbie with diesels and boats. I bought my 1999 Hunter 376 sailboat two years ago.

1) Understand maybe diesel fuel less than 45 cetane can be a source of bluish white exhaust.
2) I did accidental top my oil level above the full dip stick line about a 1/2 inch. Maybe that’s a source.
3) I added maybe more than 2 OZ. of Starbrite “Star Tron” Enzyme diesel treatment to my 30 gallon tank. Maybe that’s a source. ( I only filled the tank twice about 10 gallons each time in 2 years since owning the boat).

I don’t remember seeing bluish white exhaust before I did items 1,2,3 above. I only been out on the water 5 times in 2 years since owning the boat.

Now I believe it’s bluish white exhaust. I will check it again to make sure it’s not just white exhaust.

Is there any other reason why white or bluish white exhaust is caused?

Thanks all,
FriscoRon

Feb 20, 2011
Island Packet 35 Tucson, AZ/San Carlos, MX
2) I did accidental top my oil level above the full dip stick line about a 1/2 inch. Maybe that’s a source.
Most definitely a source. If anything, slightly less than full on the dipstick is preferable to too much.

Apr 30, 2016
I changed my oil and oil filter. And oil level is just below high mark line on the stick.. However I'm still getting what I believe is white smoke from exhaust when I ref the rpm up to 1500.

Also I noticed I'm getting a slight oil sheen on the water near the exhaust. I will have to determine if it's diesel or oil.