1993 Hunter 30T

Jul 7, 2010
Hunter 30T Grand Lake, OK
Well after a long search and several surveys we have purchased a 'New to Us' Hunter 30. Looking forward to getting it to its new location and start getting the boat lake ready. I've been a Hunter dreamer since I first took a tour in the early 90's of a 28 and 30 side by side at a Boat Show. Ever since that time I hoped and planned to 'some day' own one. Well the time has come and I can't wait to be on the water and live the day dreams I've had over the years.

For you current and past Hunter 30 owners, what do I need to do? what do I need to avoid? How do I sail fast? etc. I've been sailing for many years but always on smaller boats so this is exciting. This will be the first boat that I have owned that will have a Wheel! and a true head! first inboard diesel.
Any and all advice about the boat will be appreciated... What to do... What to avoid... Best gear to get... Problem areas... sea cocks... drains... windows... sails... engine maintenance....

Thanks for your input.

Mar 29, 2017
Hunter 30t 9805 littlecreek
Congrats. I love my 30' as well. Some think there ugly. But I don't see it. Any how leeks 25 yr old boat gonna have some. Mostly around Windows hatches. Ya gonna need stay on top of that. Sit in boat on rainy day with a flashlight. If its still on land check for rust cast iron keel alot on this site to fix that. And check rudder for water inside. Alot on that here too. Keep shift throttle cables lubed by removing compass and pour oil down cable. The boat sails fast and I win most of my club races. Put a 180 overlap sail on head and full batten race mainsail. Have fun

Jul 7, 2010
Thanks for the reply, The boat will be delivered on Thursday (less than a week now). In transit the boat will get a new bottom job and finish the survey on the boat exterior and drive train.