1977 Hunter 27ft - I need help!

Dec 6, 2017
Hunter 27 ft 92 North Caroline
Hello,

I've been windsurfing professionally for 13 years. I guess now it is time to buy a sailboat and start sailing. I found this 1977 Hunter 27ft. Looks like she is in a good shape. The boat is in North Carolina. Since I'm new to sailboats, I want to ask you guys a few questions before going to see the boat. Firat of all, the owner says that she runs perfect, has no problems. They replced the engine in 2014 with Yanmar Diesel. Would that be a problem? Should I rely on that engine aince it is replaced? Also i the photo you can see that where the mast sits, the area looks like dent. Is that normal? My last question, I don't want to spend a lot of money on electronics, so is it enough if I only have 1-2 ipads, download all the apps (chart, navigation, radar, AIS), and have portable wifi? Can I use it offahore? 100-200 miles away from shore?

Thank you very much!

Ali

Attachments

Oct 22, 2014
CAL 35 Cruiser #21 moored EVERETT WA
Ali. That is the lowest priced 27 ft Hunter on Boat trader. It is a 1977 boat. There are bound to be some things that will cost you money to put right. Off Shore 100-200 miles what are you planning to do? To answer your question would need to know if you plan to go during a gale or balmy calm conditions. 200 miles means you will be at the least 40 hours away from help. You will want to have the boat inspected and correct any and all findings for a 200 mile from land at sea trip. Or you can always live in the "danger zone", on the edge....