10HP or 8HP

Status
Not open for further replies.
May 12, 2010
Macgregor 22 Island Park
Hi everybody, I am new to both this site, and a new Catalina 25 owner. I have a very simple question, but I guess the answer will just be a matter of opinion.
As I mentioned, I just bought a 1984 fixed keel Catalina 25. It came with a 5 or 6 year old 10 HP Honda outboard. I own a brand new 8HP Honda as well that I bought for my old boat, and have about 4 hours on it. I will be doing most of my sailing in Jamaica Bay New York, and some coastal sailing as well. I believe that the weight of the boat is in the area of 4,500 lbs. Should I keep the older 10HP that I have no idea how well was maintained, or use the new 8HP? Both have long shafts, and are designed for sailboat use. Any input would be appreciated.

Oct 30, 2011
klidescope 30t norfolk
15 hp

sell them both and get a 15 hp I bet your boat would fly with a 15 hp no more weight than the 10

Oct 26, 2005
- - Satellite Beach, FL.
The hull speed for a Catalina 25 tall rig is 6.31 and you will not get past that with a 15hp.
That works with planing hulls but not hulls like ours.
I'd go with the 8 or get the 10 checked out by a good mechanic to ensure reliability. An uninsured tow can cost more than a new outboard!

Mar 19, 2011
Catalina C25 Eagle Mountain Lake
Do not waste your money on a 15HP motor. The boat will not use it and it will just weigh down the back end. If you try to approach hull speed with it, the back end will just dig in and the motor will simply eat alot of gas.

The recommended motor for a C25 is 7-10 HP per the manual, however that will depend on your use and places you sail.

For what you are doing, bay and coastal, since you are subject to wind, waves and current....a long shaft 9.9 is the preferred, ideal motor. Since you already have a long shaft 8HP, just use that and you'll be golden.

Also, come on over to:

Catalina C25 Association