Understanding Moon Calendar

Dec 28, 2015
Laser, Hunter H30 Cherubini Tacoma
I have a G-Shock Gulf Master that I have gotten really good with except understanding the Moon Day function. I understand the basic physics of the moon and its effects on the earth and our tides but I would like to better understand and know how to better apply the moon calendar function of the watch to the tide cycles.

Pretty much the watch just tells me "age" of the moon in days. Any help is appreciated. I've been Googling it but just come up with the basics of the moon and tides, not on the days.

Jul 27, 2011
Bavaria 38E Alamitos Bay
I have a G-Shock Gulf Master that I have gotten really good with except understanding the Moon Day function. I understand the basic physics of the moon and its effects on the earth and our tides but I would like to better understand and know how to better apply the moon calendar function of the watch to the tide cycles.

Pretty much the watch just tells me "age" of the moon in days. Any help is appreciated. I've been Googling it but just come up with the basics of the moon and tides, not on the days.
The lowest tidal ranges (i.e., moderate lows, moderate highs) occur, or very nearly so, at the “half moons”, which would be moons of either 7 or 21 days of the moon’s daily age, beginning with new moon. Those tides are neap tides. The greatest tidal ranges (i.e., highest highs and lowest lows) occur, or very nearly so, at the new and full moons. Those tides are spring tides. If the daily age of the moon is, say, 5 days, tides are approaching moderate ranges with moderate tidal flows. If the age is 12 days, tides are approaching the extreme ranges with strong tidal flows. Thus, the extreme ranges would coincide with a full moon of about 14 days age, and then again with the new moon when the daily calendar is reset, etc.

Last edited:
Jul 27, 2011
Bavaria 38E Alamitos Bay