proper functioning vented loop

Aug 14, 2011
Hunter 35.5 Legend PCYC Shediac, NB
I have a Jabsco Electric head that did not draw much sea water in during flushing. So my first fix was to install a complete maintenance kit since i did not know how old they were. Great experience to learn how a system works is tear it down to every part and reassemble. Things work great but still not drawing much water. My next try was to put my finger over the vented loop and flush. Works great draws a good supply of water.
How does a vented loop actually work ? is this functioning correctly or do i need to adjust it?

Thanks for your help

Dec 14, 2003
Hunter 34 Lake of Two Mountains, QC, Can