Macerator Woes

Jul 5, 2011
Oday 28 Madison, CT
Over the years we have had a lot of discussion about these beasts. I have a Jabsco 18590-2092 (2007 purchase). Am I correct when they start to leak (not at the fittings of course) they are all done and need to be replaced? Is getting 8-12 years about all one can expect, not that this is so terrible mind you......

Dec 2, 1997
- - LIttle Rock
Jabsco has a rebuild kit for it, but you'd better off replacing it. 8-12 years is an amazing lifespan for a Jabsco macerator pump...it's earned a funeral and decent burial!
--Peggie

Jun 15, 2012
BAVARIA C57 Greenport, NY
You are lucky. I have a boat built in 2011 and both macerators have already failed a while ago. Jabsco sure builds a quality product. The bronze threaded rods that hold the unit together are thin in diameter and guaranteed to break. If the seacock that the output hose is attached to is open, you can imagine the result. Beware that a Jabsco "accessory", stainless steel replacement bolts were too long for my macerators and did not work. Amazing that they offer at extra cost a bolt that might solve this problem.
I am replacing with a Seaflo unit which I hope is longer lasting. It comes with a 4 year warranty, vs 1 year on Jabsco.

Jul 5, 2011
Oday 28 Madison, CT
Thanks to you both. Not going to rebuild. Will probably stay with the Jabsco as it did well for me and the mounting holes line up and the wiring will work out etc. Plug and play vs. the unknown, you know?

Jun 15, 2012
BAVARIA C57 Greenport, NY
Seaflo unit will line up perfectly with Jabsco unit. Already installed one on my other boat.

Dec 29, 2008
Treworgy 65' LOA Custom Steel Pilothouse Staysail Ketch St. Croix, Virgin Islands
We've been lucky to get 2 years out of them. They start locking up, and eventually won't even start after repeatedly manually turning them with the screw under the cap.

Jun 14, 2010
Robertson & Caine 2017 Leopard 40 CT