Block in Lazarette

May 10, 2019
Columbia 36 Severna Park
So I am a bit new to this boat and have been doing a full bow to stern overhaul, I came across a wood block in the lazarette and wasnt sure if it was a mount of some sort? Any insight is much appreciated!

Attachments

Oct 1, 2007
Boston Whaler Super Sport Pt. Judith
So I am a bit new to this boat and have been doing a full bow to stern overhaul, I came across a wood block in the lazarette and wasnt sure if it was a mount of some sort? Any insight is much appreciated!
Could it be an autopilot mount? Is it sitting on a tank? I see that small black hose that looks like a vent line.

May 10, 2019
Columbia 36 Severna Park
Could it be an autopilot mount? Is it sitting on a tank? I see that small black hose that looks like a vent line.
It may be but the quadrant is located in a different area, I'm gonna do some more investigating tonight. Its not mointed on a tank but directly to the hull itself. When I sound the area externally I get a dead sound and when i went into the lazaretter and moved a bunch of stuff I found it. My current autopilot is a wheel mounted belt system as opposed to a tiller arm on the quadrant.

Oct 1, 2007
It may be but the quadrant is located in a different area, I'm gonna do some more investigating tonight. Its not mointed on a tank but directly to the hull itself. When I sound the area externally I get a dead sound and when i went into the lazaretter and moved a bunch of stuff I found it. My current autopilot is a wheel mounted belt system as opposed to a tiller arm on the quadrant.
It looks like a bead of some caulking underneath right next to the old beer can pop top. :) I would advise not to remove the clevis pin. Might hold the keel on :)

Jul 12, 2011
Leopard 40 Jupiter, Florida