Fuel consumption and navionics

Aug 22, 2018
Hunter 33 Prinyers Cove, PE County, ON
Hi,
I am setting up the boat info in Navionics and I have come to the fuel consumption part. I have a 2007 Hunter 33. I know that asking what fuel consumption would be is like asking how long is a piece of string but I have to put a figure in. So any suggestions? I am new to this boat and at this point have not a clue.
Of course a real sailer would just enter 0 but.........

May 7, 2012
Hunter e33 Maple Bay, BC
Hi,
I am setting up the boat info in Navionics and I have come to the fuel consumption part. I have a 2007 Hunter 33. I know that asking what fuel consumption would be is like asking how long is a piece of string but I have to put a figure in. So any suggestions? I am new to this boat and at this point have not a clue.
The fuel consumption chart for your particular engine would be a good start. These will be available from the manufacturer's website. Or if you let us know the make and model of your engine, someone will help out.

Dec 25, 2000
Hunter Passage 42 Shelter Bay, WA
A good round number in place of zero would be one gallon per hour. Any other more specific number will require an extended discussion/opinions, testing under various conditions, experimenting, endless calculations, and so forth and so on. Yours could be slightly more or slightly less. It largely depends upon how precise you want the number.

Feb 26, 2004
Catalina 34 224 Maple Bay, BC, Canada
1 would be a good start, but for his smaller boat, Terry, I'd start with 0.5.

Here's why:

Fuel Log

It's not hard to figure out, just try it for a few fill-ups and you'll know how much fuel your engine uses.

Top it up. Run for two hours. See if it will take a gallon. Done, for starters.