26S Forestay attachment

kenr74

May 3, 2019
Magregor 26S Oregon
Hello all,

I'm new to sailboats(that will be obvious shortly). I've had a ton of kayaks but never anything with a motor.

I recently bought a 1995 26S that was supposedly recently and ready to sail. I'm trying to do a dry run in my driveway and can't seem to get past getting the mast set up.

I'm wondering if the mainstay should attach directly to the foredeck fitting or if I am missing a wire adjusting channel. If I push the mast up in place I still have a good 6" gap between the turnbuckle and the fitting. The manual makes it sound like it should attach directly though so I don't know if I'm completely missing something or not.

I have adjusted other wires so they are loose and not holding back the mast.

kenr74

May 3, 2019
Magregor 26S Oregon
I would say so. If I push it as far forward as I can my wife can't get a finger under it. It isn’t flat on the deck but very close.

Should it be flat? I have all other lines loose so I don't know what would be holding it back at all.

Sumner

Jan 31, 2009
Macgregor & Endeavour 26S and 37 Utah's Canyon Country
How about a picture of what you have at the bottom of the forestay? Is the sail a hank on or a roller furler?

To get adequate tension on the rigging I always had to loosen the turnbuckle a lot. Then pin the forestay and tighten the turnbuckle back to tension the rig.

I added a Johnson lever and now I can pin the forestay and then pull the Johnson lever closed and the rigging is tensioned the same every time and it is much easier to pin the forestay. More here on that install...

http://purplesagetradingpost.com/sumner/macgregor2/rigging-24.html

Sumner
==============================================================================
1300 miles to The Bahamas and Back in the Mac...
Endeavour 37 Mods...

MacGregor 26-S Mods...http://purplesagetradingpost.com/sumner/endeavour-main/endeavour-index.html