Catalina 310 owners on Lake Michigan

Sep 25, 2008
The 310 is on my next boat short-list. I'd value opinions about the boat's motion comfort from any owners sailing the great lakes, where the "chop" often turns into 3-4 foot box-shaped waves.

Oct 3, 2011
Anam Cara Catalina 310 Hull #155 155 Lake Erie/Catawba Island
Paul, We sail on Lake Erie, Cannot get much choppier than that! And we sail South of the Islands, again cannot imagine more choppier !
We are not bothered by the waves, as much, due to the boats hull design which we feel handles the wave motion well especially when we have boat speed. We also sail between Ferry routes that cause wave, again we feel the hull shape minizes it as much as it can. I am not a marine engineer so someone else may have better terminology or descriptions.
We also do most of our sailing during the week and try to avoid weekends because of PEOPLE.
We are sailing this summer up to top of Lake Huron, Mackinac and we are excited about that and how the boat sails on Deep Huron as compared to Shallow Erie (average 65').

Oct 3, 2011
Its GOOD to have GOALS!
We are blessed in that we are retired and have the ability to schedule such!
But the Boat Design, we feel handles that very well.

Tom J

Sep 30, 2008
Catalina 310 Quincy, MA
We also do most of our sailing during the week and try to avoid weekends because of PEOPLE.
This applies especially to Boston Harbor, even the outer harbor. The wakes from all those motorboats can ruin an otherwise perfect day.

Oct 3, 2011
I think power boat owners should be MANDATED to get a license-no matter how old or how much expierence and renew it every 5 years. They should be taught./reviewed Rules of the Road, navigation and safety. Just MHO

Aug 2, 2009
Catalina 315 Muskegon
I sailed a 309 (same hull as 310) on Lake Michigan for a few years and found it to be just fine. Comfortable.

Tom J

Sep 30, 2008
Catalina 310 Quincy, MA