Catalina 27 Bulkhead Replacement

Feb 11, 2019
Catalina 27 Tulsa
Good day. I want to apologize in advance if my terminology is wrong or I don't completely understand what is being said because I am just a self-taught sailor. I recently purchased a 1985 Catalina 27 that is in a slip on the lake with the mast stepped. I recently noticed that the port side bulkhead has some rotting at the top and the veneer is peelings badly. I would like to completely remove and replace this piece but not sure if that is a job for an average guy. I figured I would remove the chain plate, dismantle the little locker the bulkhead make ups, and use the old as a temple for a new bulkhead. I would use a new piece of marine grade plywood. Has anyone done this before and can offer advice? How would I support the mast with the upper shroud removed? I have attached the only picture I currently have that shows the area. Thank you for the help.

Portside_Bulkhead.jpg

Jun 29, 2010
Beneteau First 235 Lake Minnetonka, MN
I wouldn't do it on the water. Have boat hauled and put in a cradle with the mast down.

PSR

Sep 17, 2013
Catalina 27 4743 MB Yacht Harbor, Richmond CA
I replaced both main bulkheads last year. You can do this in the water. I had the mast dropped to replace standing rigging etc., and returned the boat to her slip where I replaced both bulkheads. Unless you are berthed in a rough marina with heavy winds buffeting and rocking you, I think you could leave the mast up, supported with a halyard. You might attach a line to the port main shroud and take up some tension on it to keep the support on the two sides at the same point on the mast. I used 1/2" marine grade okoume plywood, finished with Minwax red oak stain, followed by 2 coats of West System epoxy, using the 207 hardener for efficiency and then 3 coats of exterior Varathane. Be sure to seal the plywood edges with epoxy!