Hell freezes over

Apr 7, 2016
Beneteau First 305 Seward, Alaska
you either have to back something up with a reference or give your credentials on why you dont have to come up with references.
I love it when someone starts a sentence with, “Well, I’m not a scientist, but I think...” I continue the sentence in my mind with “I should keep my baseless opinions to myself.” Global warming always seems to be a hot topic but it applies to al aspects of life. The world would be a much happier place where we can all just enjoy sailing on a sailing forum...⛵

May 25, 2012
john alden caravelle 42 sturgeon bay, wis
driver in front
enclosed cockpit
the course was two way then averaged
a sailor named buddy melges with his buds ran the speed trap
buddy built my Ascow, arranged the sale for me to get a nice used speedster
running in the dirt ain't never keeping up with running on ice, that's right , i said it :)

Jul 27, 2011
Bavaria 38E Alamitos Bay
I love it when someone starts a sentence with, “Well, I’m not a scientist, but I think...” I continue the sentence in my mind with “I should keep my baseless opinions to myself.” Global warming always seems to be a hot topic but it applies to al aspects of life. The world would be a much happier place where we can all just enjoy sailing on a sailing forum...⛵
Hard to conceive a sailor’s forum where the sailors are barred from talking about, or discussing, the weather and the reasons for it b/c someone might become offended. The world we live in today:frown:.

walt

Jun 1, 2007
Macgregor 26S Hobie TI Ridgway Colorado

sister photo

This is a modern E skeeter and they will get up to around 100 mph. More remarkable is that they can get up near 10X the wind speed when the wind is very light (like 50 mph in a 5 mph wind).

That supposedly ice boat record was from 1938 and the boat was the stern-steerer Debutaunte and it would have looked more similar to the one in the picture below

Apr 7, 2016