Spinnaker size

Tim66

Oct 19, 2017
O’day 34 ct
i have a 1981 O’day 34 ‘ sailboat that I purchased in July of last year . I want to get a spinnaker sail for it and I do not know what size I need to buy and do I need a pole for it. I am new to sailing and have been learning as I go. Any help would be appreciated.

May 17, 2004
Beneteau Oceanis 37 Havre de Grace
What you'll probably want, unless you're looking for serious dead downwind performance, is an asymmetrical cruising Spinnaker. Those are easily flown without a pole. They'll often have a sock to help you deploy and retrieve them, and some kind of loop to go around the headstay for stability.

Sizing will vary depending on the cut and intended use, but the luff will be about the same as the forestay length, and the foot will be somewhere around 1.5-1.8 times your J measurement.

May 20, 2016
Catalina 36 MK1 94 Everett, WA
You need a pole for symmetric not for asymmetric. Asym is much easier to fly. Do some research on the different types and post a narrower question.

This is like saying I need to buy a car, what should I get.

Les

Ted

Jan 26, 2005
C&C 110 Bay Shore, Long Island, NY
If you plan to race your boat, get a symmetrical spinnaker. You will need a spinnaker pole the length of your boat's "J" dimension. (without a penalty) Boats of similar design to yours do better downwind with a symmetrical spinnaker. If cruising, an asymmetrical is easier to fly. No pole is necessary although you can still use one. Something like an ATN Tacker and a spinnaker sleeve would be nice to have.

If your boat has never been equipped to fly a spinnaker you will also need a spinnaker halyard, a track on your mast for a spinnaker pole ring, 2 long sheets about double your boat length, a couple of snatch blocks, up and down hauls for the pole and a couple of people to join you while you're having fun flying it.

Last edited:
Jan 22, 2008
Beneteau 323 Annapolis MD