O'day 25 - Gonna Buy One

Oct 6, 2018
Watkins 25 Seawolf Dunnellon / Crystal River
Hello everyone. I'm new here, and new to sailing. I've got 20 years of boating experience, but haven't been sailing since I was 6 years old.

My wife and I are entertaining the idea of living aboard a sailboat and cruising the Caribbean when I retire in about 12 years. So, we thought that maybe we aught to get a little sailing experience first.

I live in Florida and there are a lot of boats around to choose from and we've looked at a few. We have our eye on a Commodore T26, because most everything else we have looked at had at least one major issue not disclosed by the seller until after the 2 hour drive to see it. The Comodor is nice, but has a fixed shoal keel which I'm not real excited about.

We are looking for a large, easy to trailer boat with Centerboard keel that is safe and relatively inexpensive. Centerboard because we plan to sail the coastline of Florida and (after gaining a few years of experience) maybe even visit the Bahamas and other nearby islands.

I found a fewo O'Day 25s that I'm going to look at and after reading about them online, we have decided to limit our search to this model boat only.

https://www.pieroneyachtsales.com/boats-for-sale/1978-o-day-25-oday-englewood-florida-6832667/

https://fortmyers.craigslist.org/lee/boa/6728276132.html

https://daytona.craigslist.org/boa/6725923265.html?lang=en&cc=us

I'm also finally in a financial position to make an offer when I find the right boat. So here are my questions...

1. What are some of the common problem areas the 25s have and how do I inspect them? I've read that the transom has a plywood core which can rot and that the chain plate attachments are also a problem. How common? Deal breaker or fixable?