Onboard toolkit for a 35.5

Mutany

Aug 20, 2018
Catalina C30 MKI San Diego
I'm putting together a tool kit for my yet to be purchased 35.5.

I'm new to maintaining a sailboat... what are the essentials?

Jan 1, 2006
Slickcraft 26 Sailfish
Multi tester. Rubber mallet. 5 & 7 mm box wrenches. Vice grip. Channel lock pliers. Phillips and slot screwdriver. A decent electrical crimper and an assortment of crimp connectors, electrical tape. That's not a complete list. If you are cruising the list gets a lot longer. But if you sail from a dock I think it's better to keep your tools on shore and not clutter up the boat with a lot of stuff you'll never use.

tjar

Aug 8, 2011
Hunter Legend 35.5 Tacoma, WA
Butyl tape, SailKote lubricant, rigger's knife, sailmaker's palm, needles, & thread, needle nose pliers, diagonal cutters, whipping line, and seizing wire. It's also a good idea to keep an assortment of spare parts. Items to consider are fuel filter, belts, hoses and clamps, clevis pins & split rings, oil, batteries, light bulbs, head service kit, fuses, zip ties. Most of these items can be stored in a small bag or plastic box out of the way.
I like to keep a small, but well stocked tool bag onboard. It avoids the usual problem of not having the tool when I need it, or forgetting it in one place or the other.

Oct 22, 2014
CAL 35 Cruiser #21 moored EVERETT WA
Oh the list is long and short. All depends. While I am in repair mode, I care tools that fill the back of my Subaru forester. I never know what I may need. A craftsman is only limited by his tools.
When I go sailing, I try to limit the tools to what may be needed to repair the boats primary systems to get me home safely (engine, sail, hull, etc.). All of what @tjar listed are great to consider.