Introduction & Questions From a Newbie

Jun 1, 2018
Hunter 23 Brookeville Lake, IN
Hello, I have recently purchased a Hunter 23 and I am a sailing newbie. I have had one sailing lesson at a local lake on the schools boat a few years ago but I feel I know just enough to get myself in trouble. I plan on keeping the boat in the water during the midwest season but my concern is launching and retrieving it. The first time I ever trailered a boat was yesterday after purchasing it, which was a nerve racking experience at first. Is there anything I should know about launching the boat that would help me? It has a shoal keel and a trailer extension which I assume will help. I would be launching it with a either a Toyota 4Runner or Ford F150 4X4 if that helps.

Another question I had was stepping the mast. I assisted with lowering it and it took the previous owner, myself and two other guys to accomplish it. Any tips and tricks to make this easier? Maybe even a one or two man job?

Jul 21, 2016
san juan 7.7 wabamun
Hey John, welcome to the forum and to sailing. My advice for both launching and rigging the mast is the same. Exactly what you just did, ask for help. There will be other sailors in the marina, get some help from them, explain this is all new to you. Most of us love to help, and play with other people's boats.
For specific answers... Launching, use 4 wheel drive, traction is key. Extend the tongue on level ground with the tires blocked. Go slow, accidents happen when you rush.
For standing the mast, mostly the same. Especially don't rush. The mast isn't too heavy on a 23. The faster you push it up, the more danger of swing if a line or shroud catches on something. Definately have help for your first standing. Also check if your marina has any aperatus to assist. I've never used one but have seen some very innovative setups.
Above all else, remember you bought the boat because sailing is fun. Get a group of like minded sailors and all this becomes easy, and fun too.