Are there any sailors racing their MacGregors in PHRF regattas here?

Dec 13, 2017
MacGregor MacGregor 26D 646 Lake Ray Hubbard
I'm new to this site and looking to see if there are any racers here to share ideas with.

Sep 25, 2008
Macgregor & Island Packet VENTURE 25 & IP-38 NORTH EAST, MD
Hi, afew years ago I was racing my Venture 25, and had her pretty well modified. What you want to chat about?

Dec 13, 2017
MacGregor MacGregor 26D 646 Lake Ray Hubbard
IMG_0429.JPG
I just don't see many Macs racing now days which surprises me since the early Venture 22, Macs 25, Macs 26D & S boats were raced years ago and were very popular due to their low cost. I've been racing for 6 years now and we normally do quite well at regattas in Texas. I started out racing on a Macgregor 26D by the name of "Wings" and the owner has over a room full of regatta trophies racing her. I'm thinking about starting a web page on racing Macs. Your thoughts?

Nov 8, 2010
Beneteau First 36.7 & 260 Minneapolis MN & Bayfield WI
I'm always a fan of seeing non-traditional boats racing. Seeing a Mac with a backstay flicker makes me smile.

I'd suggest posting in the regular racing forum. You'll get good feedback from other (non-Mac) racers as well, and for sure there'll be more people reading.

RussC

Sep 11, 2015
Merit 22- Oregon lakes
I race our Mac 25 ever time there's another boat on the lake. even won a few ;) .

Nov 8, 2010
Beneteau First 36.7 & 260 Minneapolis MN & Bayfield WI
Nice looking setup, but looks super uncomfortable! ;^)
I like the light air setup in the top picture; everything soft and crew low.

walt

Jun 1, 2007
Macgregor 26S Hobie TI Ridgway Colorado
Nice looking setup, but looks super uncomfortable! ;^)