What are these holes?

Oct 8, 2016
O'DAY 22 East End Yacht Club
I'm new to this boat and I'm not sure what these holes are for. This compartment is in the port side cockpit bench seat. I think this is where the fuel tank is supposed to go for the outboard but I wonder about the holes.
This is a 1977 O'Day 22 that I am becoming acquainted with during the off season.

Attachments

Jan 22, 2008
Beneteau 323 Annapolis MD
Is there anything behind them? You would not want holes between the gas tank and cabin area- that's a no-no. On my B323 I find I can improve ventilation in the port quarterberth if I open the stbd lazz lid in the cockpit. Air flows in the area under, and aft of, the cockpit molding.

Nov 9, 2012
Oday 192 Lake Nockamixon
That is the fuel locker. However, you are missing a panel on the front facing the cockpit. Typically, it's a fiberglass panel screwed in to the recesses. There is a 2" or so gap at the bottom, so you could bring the fuel hose out, and also so that the fuel area is open to the cockpit. On the Precision line of sailboats (Precision 18, Precision 21, etc.) they screw teak slats across the fuel locker. Pretty, but more wood to finish and take care of.

Those ports were installed to give access, possibly to the transom in order to install that horn cleat. When screwed in, they would seal off from the cabin areas below. My fuel locker is on the starboard side, and folks often put the deck plate on the aft side of the locker, so that they can access the bolts for the motor mount, in the event that it needs replaced.

Oct 8, 2016
Thank you Brian! That missing Panel was a piece of plywood that is delaminating. I will put some of that 1/2" thick white synthetic paneling I see at Home depot there instead. It is supposed to be good for outdoor use and it is an easy spot to monitor its condition. I think the original part may of had been hinged on the bottom.