Recent content by Igetit80

1. Igetit80

Help needed with trailer strategy

Nice work, and you are lucky to have adjustable bunks. Mine are welded so I'll need to keep the replacement axle(s) as close to oem as possible, height-wise. Thanks for sharing your experience!
  2. Igetit80

That's how I got here. Any chance the Fort Walton Yacht Club has a small boat lift available? :biggrin:
  3. Igetit80

Same in Indiana for the weight requirement, but no annual inspection. Yep, I'm seeing actuators on some systems that have both hydraulic and electronic components. I thought the rule of thumb was electric for RVs and hydraulic for boats for the same reason its bad to drop a toaster into the...
  4. Igetit80

Rick, I have zero experience with salt water, so how much does it help if you hose down the trailer after each submersion? I'm hoping to do the Northern Gulf Coast and East Coast Cruises with the club this year, the trailer would get dunked 4 times total, all other use being fresh water. Before...
  5. Igetit80

I like the idea of disc brakes. If I go with tandem axles, would you recommend installing brakes on both? It seems like balance would be good for handling and control, but I'm not sure if that would make the hydraulic system harder to work effectively. I'm pretty sure I've seen discs installed...
  6. Igetit80

Right, so being a critical thinker you requested the upgrade and justified the cost. I can't see why these boat builders and trailer manufacturers cut it so close to the gross weight limit. If they ever started getting hit with product liability lawsuits like say, the small aircraft...
  7. Igetit80

Based on the reading I have done here and elsewhere I am planning to convert to a tandem axle setup. The original trailers shipped with single axles rated at 3500 lbs, and there are multiple sources citing swing keel New Design C22's coming in well over the advertised displacement, even with...
  8. Igetit80

Thanks Gene, I appreciate the offer.