1979 Hunter Cherubini 33 Questions

May 15, 2019
Catalina 22 2 Quincy, MA
So I'm new to sailing. I've sailed smaller (21-27') boats the last couple years and am looking to upgrade to 30-36 foot. I've been boating my whole life but just switched to sailing. I have an opportunity to buy a 79 Hunter 33 for a great deal. Needs a motor but the seller says otherwise its in great shape. I just don't know enough about these boats to know if there are any common issues I should look for when I go look at the boat. Any input would be very much appreciated. Thanks

Nov 8, 2010
Beneteau First 36.7 & 260 Minneapolis MN & Bayfield WI
If a 50 year old sailboat needs a new motor, its junk. Negative economic value.

It will cost more to replace it that one of those boats is worth with a OK motor. Keep looking.

Last edited:

JRT

Feb 14, 2017
Catalina 310 211 Lake Guntersville, AL
Agree, price the motor and the 'good deal' and then take that as your new price for a functional sailboat. I just made the same move from a 25' to a 31' and first started with only needs a few projects to finally getting something well maintained and ready to sail. And guess what I have projects still to do just nothing major at least.

May 15, 2019
Catalina 22 2 Quincy, MA
Thanks for the input so far. I've already priced out a motor and what the cost of the boat is and it still is way less than I can find one for. My biggest concern is common problems with these boats I might miss. I'm fine with a project, I restored a 70's cabin cruiser power boat before. I just don't want to start a project with a boat that might have a common flaw that doesn't make it worth it.

Jul 7, 2004
Hunter 30T Cheney, KS
I'm with these guys. "Common flaws" are the least of your problems with a boat this old. You have structural core to check as well as the usual items like sails, hardware, standing rigging etc.

May 15, 2019
Catalina 22 2 Quincy, MA